On Mali Plazur, a top of the southern part of Medvednica, a picturesque medieval burg nested and it watches over Zagreb for eight centuries.                                                                                It was built in 1254, after the catastrophic invasion of the Tatars, which devastated these areas demolished and burned the then Zagreb, which consisted of the civic Gradec and the episcopal Kaptol. Although built primarily for the protection of citizens, bishops and church treasures, Medvedgrad, due to its perfect strategic position, was constantly at the center of ownership – political turmoil. In its history it has changed a number of masters who have gained or lost it in various marital combinations, acts of buying and selling, pettifogs or even conspiracies. Although fantastically fortified and always ready for battle, Medvedgrad has never been attacked.


With more than seven kilometers of branched canals, Veternica is the sixth largest cave in Croatia, and its length is constantly “growing” after research visits of zealous Zagreb speleologists. However, “ordinary” tourists with the guidance of a professional tour guide can visit the first 380 meters of the cave and discover some of its secrets.


Near the Grafičar mountain house there is an area known as the Mining Garden, on which people have been mining for years in the pursuit of noble metal. The Zrinski mine has been opened in the 16th century when galena with admixture of silver was found in the Mining Garden area, and the miners began to excavate the corridors in the Medvednica underground in search of that valuable metal.